The mission of the Journalism Interactive Conference is to improve journalism education by:

  • Advancing the national discourse about how journalism schools are preparing students for a rapidly changing industry
  • Expanding the knowledge of media educators through training in digital media teaching strategies and technologies
  • Creating a community of journalism educators engaged in teaching and using digital media and providing them with meaningful networking opportunities to share teaching strategies and techniques
History of J/i

The J/i conference was founded in 2011 by the University of Maryland’s Philip Merrill College of Journalism.
It was expanded in 2013 through a partnership with the University of Florida, which hosted and served as lead organizer for the 2013 and 2016 events. J/i has since expanded further to become a consortium with the addition of the University of Missouri, a sponsoring school for both the 2013 and 2014 J/i events and host of the 2015 conference.

National Planning Committee
  • Steven King, University of North Carolina
  • Lynda Kraxberger, University of Missouri
  • Mike McKean, University of Missouri
  • Mindy McAdams, University of Florida
  • Sean Mussenden, University of Maryland
  • Matt Sheehan, University of Florida
  • Amy Simons, University of Misouri
  • Judd Slivka, University of Missiouri
  • Leslie Walker, University of Maryland
  • Deborah Wenger, University of Mississippi