The mission of the Journalism Interactive Conference is to improve journalism education by:

  • Advancing the national discourse about how journalism schools are preparing students for a rapidly changing industry
  • Expanding the knowledge of media educators through training in digital media teaching strategies and technologies
  • Creating a community of journalism educators engaged in teaching and using digital media and providing them with meaningful networking opportunities to share teaching strategies and techniques
History of J/i

The J/i conference is a consortium of three journalism schools that rotate organizing and hosting responsibilities for the annual conference focused on digital journalism methods and teaching strategies. It was founded in 2011 at the University of Maryland’s Philip Merrill College of Journalism and quickly expanded to become a partnership with the University of Florida and the University of Missouri. Each school has hosted and served as lead organizer.

The J/i team welcomes participation from other schools and aims to provide a venue for the exchange of ideas among educators, researchers and practitioners of journalism.


  • Matt Dulin, University of Missouri
  • Kalyani Chadha, University of Maryland
  • Steven King, University of North Carolina
  • Mindy McAdams, University of Florida
  • Jasmine McNealy, University of Florida
  • Sean Mussenden, University of Maryland
  • Matt Sheehan, University of Florida
  • Amy Simons, University of Missouri
  • Leslie Walker, University of Maryland
  • Debora Wenger, University of Mississippi


  • Brooke Auxier, University of Maryland
  • Ira Chinoy, University of Maryland
  • Merrilee Cox, University of Maryland
  • Chris Harvey, University of Maryland
  • Susan Moeller, University of Maryland
  • Sarah Oates, University of Maryland
  • Ron Yaros, University of Maryland